Ian Thorpe set to compete at the London 2012 Olympic Games

February 22, 2011 at 6:02 pm | Posted in Fitness, Professional Athletes, Sports and Rec, Swimming | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: Leigh.

It has been widely reported that Ian Thorpe is set to make a much anticipated return to swimming for the 2012 London Olympics. Despite perviously quitting the sport in 2006, citing a lack of motivation, Thorpe’s long-term agent David Flaskas has said that the 28 year old has now returned to the pool for intense training.

He is said to have lost 10kg in his bid to reach full fitness in time and is keen on making the Australian 4x100m freestyle team in London. “I never really stopped swimming, I’m just doing more of it now, and I’m really enjoying getting into shape”, Thorpe told News Limited on Sunday 2nd January.

Thorpe achieved worldwide accliam for his performances in the pool which resulted in winning 5 gold medals, 11 world championship golds and setting an astonishing 13 world records. He has since occupied himself with a wide range of business commitments including investing in a Chinese private equity firm, shares in a mortgage company and his own line of sports drinks.

Fans including myself will be hoping these reports are accurate and would certainly welcome the return of one of the greatest athletes the Olympic Games has witnessed.

My name is Leigh. I’ve been fascinated by the Olympics since the age of five and I couldn’t be prouder that the games are now set to be hosted in my home city, London. I started my blog to give a unique insight into developments leading up to the most anticipated sporting event in the world.

Please feel free to follow me on twitter or subscribe to my personal blog updates ( Email | RSS )

Article Source: http://www.articlesbase.com/water-sports-articles/ian-thorpe-set-to-compete-at-the-london-2012-olympic-games-4017831.html

About the Author

My name is Leigh. I’ve been fascinated by the Olympics since the age of five and I couldn’t be prouder that the games are now set to be hosted in my home city, London. I started my blog to give a unique insight into developments leading up to the most anticipated sporting event in the world.

Please feel free to follow me on twitter or subscribe to my personal blog updates ( Email | RSS )

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Ian Thorpe set to compete at the London 2012 Olympic Games « Tags: article-source, author, been-fascinated, olympics, since-the-age, source « […]

  2. […] this link: Ian Thorpe set to compete at the London 2012 Olympic Games « Tags: article-source, author, been-fascinated, olympics, since-the-age, source « […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

