10 Unconventional Diet Tips: How to lose 50 pounds in three months

April 3, 2012 at 2:53 pm | Posted in Diet, Fitness, tips, Weight Loss | 30 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

By Kyle Pott

The following are 10 unconventional weight loss tips that worked for me. Between January 4, 2006 and March 31, 2006 I lost fifty pounds. These tips work well because almost every tip is focused around completing a small goal. In my opinion, to stay motivated and lose a significant amount of weight, you should complete many goals in a short period of time. The reason I call these tips unconventional is that I had not seen a majority of them before starting my diet.

I will start by recognizing the typical “calories in, calories out” schpeil. Yes, to lose weight you have to eat well and exercise. But there is much more to it than that, and I don’t want to spend time regurgitating ideas you’ve heard before. That brings me to the first point:

Buy a digital scale
This seems easy enough. I recommend that before starting a diet, buy a scale that is accurate to .2 (two-hundredths of a pound). I will explain why below. I also recommend either buying a scale that can record your daily weight, or manually logging your weight everyday. I bought a scale that was accurate to .2 and logged my weight at Sam’s Club for $22. It has been a great investment.

Weigh yourself everyday
You’ll find that almost every other dieter will tell you to weigh yourself only once a week. I recommend the exact opposite. I am very goal oriented and I like to see results everyday. The reason I recommend buying a scale that is accurate to the .2 is that there is a very big difference between weighting 170.8 one day and 170.0 the next day. Losing .8 pounds in one day is excellent. However, if your scale is not accurate enough to report the loss and still shows 170 after a day of healthy eating and working out, you will feel extremely discouraged. A more detailed scale makes it easier to keep a positive outlook. The more successes (days with positive weight loss) the easier it is.

Drink 8 glasses of water everyday
This one is obvious and broadly recommended, however, the reason I recommend it is slightly different. Drinking eight glasses of water per day helps you “feel less hungry.” I can’t prove this scientifically, however, when I am at work, I drink 4 cups in the morning and 4 cups in the evening. On the days that I don’t drink the water, I feel hungrier, earlier. Also, on the days I don’t drink water I feel sleepier, sooner. Don’t feel intimidated by trying to drink 8 glasses of water. Try doing what I do: I have a pint glass I keep at work, it holds sixteen ounces (as all pint glasses do). All I do is drink two pints of water in the morning and two in the afternoon.

Make your diet public
Tell people you’re on a diet. There’s no reason to be ashamed to be on a diet. I found that trying to keep my diet a secret was harder than just telling people. In fact, telling your coworkers, girlfriend, family, etc. will increase your accountability. It motivated me knowing that my coworkers and family knew that I was dieting because I did not want to fail. I also chose a typical “fat picture” and put it on my fridge, in my cubicle, and on my wall. I wanted to have a continual reminder to lose the weight. I know it’s a cliche, but it was important for me to remind myself of my ultimate goal.

Read the rest of this article at Lifehack

30 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] original post here: 10 Unconventional Diet Tips: How to lose 50 pounds in three months « ← Body Cosmetic: 12 Diet Facts and 12 Diet Tips for Losing Weight … Finding Weight […]

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your next post thanks once again.

  3. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but
    I find this matter to be really something that I think I would never understand.

    It seems too complex and extremely broad for me.
    I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  4. Hey would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re using? I’ve loaded your
    blog in 3 different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.

    Can you recommend a good web hosting provider at a honest price?
    Thanks, I appreciate it!

  5. Hi there mates, how is all, and what you would like to say regarding this piece of writing, in my view
    its really remarkable for me.

  6. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your
    blog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.

    Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  7. Amazing! Its genuinely remarkable piece of writing, I have
    got much clear idea about from this paragraph.

  8. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who was conducting
    a little homework on this. And he actually ordered me lunch because I found it for him…
    lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanx for spending some time to discuss this matter here
    on your internet site.

  9. Hello everybody, here every person is sharing such know-how, thus it’s
    good to read this webpage, and I used to visit this webpage everyday.

  10. Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the
    blog. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

  11. With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright
    infringement? My site has a lot oof exclusive content I’ve either created myself
    or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up
    all over the web without my permission. Do you know any ways to
    help stop content from being ripped off? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  12. Very good post! We will be linking to this great article on our website.

    Keep up the good writing.

  13. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog
    that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  14. Appreciate tɦе гecommendation. Let me try it out.

  15. A motivating discussion is worth comment. I do think that
    you need to publish more abnout thiss subject,
    it may not be a taboo matter but generally people
    don’t discuss these issues. To the next! Cheers!!

  16. I cannot express how the information within this post has
    made me reconsider many issues. Looking over
    this content greatly influenced my opinions. Your description of this theme is unparalleled and is quite
    well-written. Thanks.

  17. Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; we have developed some nice methods and we are looking to trade solutions with other folks, please shoot me an e-mail if
    interested.

  18. Because the admin of this web site is working,
    no hesitation very rapidly it will be well-known, due to its feature contents.

  19. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog thus
    i came to “return the favor”.I’m attempting to find things
    to improve my website!I suppose its ok to use
    some of your ideas!!

  20. It’s amazing to pay a quick visit this site and reading the views of all colleagues concerning this piece of writing, while I am also keen of getting familiarity.

  21. Hi to every body, it’s my first visit of this website; this webpage
    includes remarkable and really fine data for
    readers.

  22. I don’t even understand how I stopped up right here, but I assumed this
    submit was great. I do not recognize who you might be
    but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger should you aren’t already.

    Cheers!

  23. What а material of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious
    expeгіence concerning unexpected emߋtions.

  24. Every weekend i used to pay a quick visit this web page, as i wish for enjoyment,
    for the reason that this this website conations really pleasant funny stuff too.

  25. This site was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which helped me.

    Cheers!

  26. I don’t know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else experiencing issues with your site.
    It appears as though some of the text on your posts are running off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback
    and let me know if this is happening to them too?
    This could be a problem with my internet browser
    because I’ve had this happen previously. Many thanks

  27. Go ahead commit your noted barrier to paper and see what you can come up
    with excuses to skip it. Both are precious in developing a healthy
    attitude towards food, acai berry benefits weight loss becomes
    easier. Unfortunately, like many of the popular weight loss pills.
    There is no one best weight loss program is very unhealthy.
    Usually organic foods are preferred for acai berry benefits intake
    of this supplement.

  28. What’s up, its pleasant piece of writing about media print, we all know media is a impressive source of information.

  29. Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice whilst you amend your web site, how could i
    subscribe for a blog website? The account helped me
    a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit familiar of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

