The Importance of Drinking Enough Water

June 12, 2012 at 1:53 pm | Posted in Fitness, tips | 33 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,


By Kathleen M. Zelman, MPH, RD, LD

Americans seem to carry bottled water everywhere they go these days. In fact, it has become the second most popular drink (behind soft drinks). But water lovers got a jolt recently when we heard that a new report had found that the benefits of drinking water may have been oversold. Apparently, the old suggestion to drink eight glasses a day was nothing more than a guideline, not based on scientific evidence.

But don’t put your water bottle or glass down just yet. While we may not need eight glasses, there are plenty of reasons to drink water. In fact, drinking water (either plain or in the form of other fluids or foods) is essential to your health.

“Think of water as a nutrient your body needs that is present in liquids, plain water, and foods. All of these are essential daily to replace the large amounts of water lost each day,” says Joan Koelemay, RD, dietitian for the Beverage Institute, an industry group.

Kaiser Permanente nephrologist Steven Guest, MD, agrees: “Fluid losses occur continuously, from skin evaporation, breathing, urine, and stool, and these losses must be replaced daily for good health,” he says.

When your water intake does not equal your output, you can become dehydrated. Fluid losses are accentuated in warmer climates, during strenuous exercise, in high altitudes, and in older adults, whose sense of thirst may not be as sharp.

Here are six reasons to make sure you’re drinking enough water or other fluids every day:

1. Drinking Water Helps Maintain the Balance of Body Fluids. Your body is composed of about 60% water. The functions of these bodily fluids include digestion, absorption, circulation, creation of saliva, transportation of nutrients, and maintenance of body temperature.

“Through the posterior pituitary gland, your brain communicates with your kidneys and tells it how much water to excrete as urine or hold onto for reserves,” says Guest, who is also an adjunct professor of medicine at Stanford University.

When you’re low on fluids, the brain triggers the body’s thirst mechanism. And unless you are taking medications that make you thirsty, Guest says, you should listen to those cues and get yourself a drink of water, juice, milk, coffee — anything but alcohol.

“Alcohol interferes with the brain and kidney communication and causes excess excretion of fluids which can then lead to dehydration,” he says.

2. Water Can Help Control Calories. For years, dieters have been drinking lots of water as a weight loss strategy. While water doesn’t have any magical effect onweight loss, substituting it for higher calorie beverages can certainly help.

“What works with weight loss is if you choose water or a non-caloric beverage over a caloric beverage and/or eat a diet higher in water-rich foods that are healthier, more filling, and help you trim calorie intake,” says Penn State researcher Barbara Rolls, PhD, author of The Volumetrics Weight Control Plan.

Food with high water content tends to look larger, its higher volume requires more chewing, and it is absorbed more slowly by the body, which helps you feel full. Water-rich foods include fruits, vegetables, broth-based soups, oatmeal, and beans.

3. Water Helps Energize Muscles. Cells that don’t maintain their balance of fluids and electrolytes shrivel, which can result in muscle fatigue. “When muscle cells don’t have adequate fluids, they don’t work as well and performance can suffer,” says Guest.

Drinking enough fluids is important when exercising. Follow the American College of Sports Medicine guidelines for fluid intake before and during physical activity. These guidelines recommend that people drink about 17 ounces of fluid about two hours before exercise. During exercise, they recommend that people start drinking fluids early, and drink them at regular intervals to replace fluids lost by sweating.

Read the rest of this article at WebMD

33 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Reblogged this on Lose Weight, Love You.

  2. Reblogged this on ridelightinthesaddle.

  3. water is a life u wst water so u wst ur life soo plzz don’t wst its…….:-))
    Thanx…

  4. I think what you posted was actually very reasonable.
    But, what about this? suppose you composed a catchier title?
    I am not suggesting your content is not good., however what if you added
    a headline that grabbed a person’s attention? I mean The Importance of Drinking Enough Water Bareskin Blog is a little plain. You should peek at Yahoo’s
    front page and see how they create post headlines to grab viewers to
    open the links. You might add a related video or a related picture or two to get readers interested about everything’ve written. Just my opinion, it could bring your blog a little livelier.

  5. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this post and the rest of the site is extremely good.

  6. Hey there! I just wish to give you a big thumbs up for the great information you have got right here on this post. I am returning to your website for more soon.

  7. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared your web
    site in my social networks!

  8. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Many thanks, However I am having issues with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I can’t subscribe to it. Is there anybody having the same RSS issues? Anyone that knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  9. Your style is unique compared to other people I have read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this blog.

  10. I was very pleased to discover this page. I wanted to thank you for your time just for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it and i also have you bookmarked to look at new stuff on your blog.

  11. The next time I read a blog, I hope that it does not disappoint me just as much as this one. After all, I know it was my choice to read through, but I actually thought you would probably have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of moaning about something you can fix if you were not too busy looking for attention.

  12. Good post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It’s always helpful to read through articles from other authors and use a little something from other websites.

  13. I really like looking through a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing for me to comment!

  14. I was excited to uncover this great site. I wanted to thank you for your time for this fantastic read!! I definitely liked every part of it and i also have you book-marked to check out new information in your website.

  15. Can I just say what a relief to uncover somebody who truly understands what they are talking about on the net. You actually know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More and more people should look at this and understand this side of the story. I was surprised that you aren’t more popular since you definitely have the gift.

  16. I’m pretty pleased to discover this page. I need to to thank you for ones time just for this fantastic read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it and i also have you saved as a favorite to see new stuff on your site.

  17. You should take part in a contest for one of the finest sites on the internet. I’m going to highly recommend this blog!

  18. illuminating and entertaining. I’ve added your blog
    to my “reading material.” Continue me updated!

  19. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve visited this site before but after browsing through some of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Regardless, I’m certainly happy I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

  20. I\’ve been using iXpenseIt for quite a while as well and was almost certain that it will be featured in the Top 5.

  21. Functional weblog … wow!

  22. Today, while I was at work, my sister stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive
    a twenty five foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My iPad is now broken and she has 83 views.
    I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  23. I precisely desired to appreciate you once again.
    I’m not certain the things I could possibly have undertaken without those pointers shared by you about that problem. It had become the scary difficulty in my opinion, however , finding out your skilled mode you solved it forced me to leap for fulfillment. Extremely grateful for the advice and believe you recognize what a great job you are always providing instructing the rest with the aid of your blog post. I know that you haven’t met all of us.

  24. I do consider all the ideas you’ve introduced on your post. They are really convincing and can certainly work. Still, the posts are very brief for newbies. May just you please prolong them a bit from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

  25. Great work! This is the kind of info that are meant to be shared around the web.
    Disgrace on Google for not positioning this
    post higher! Come on over and seek advice from my website
    . Thanks =)

  26. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website?
    My website is in the exact same niche as yours and my users would genuinely benefit from some of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this ok with you. Thanks!

  27. Howdy! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds
    me of my previous room mate! He always kept
    chatting about this. I will forward this page
    to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read.
    Thanks for sharing!

  28. I all the time used to study piece of writikng in
    news papers but now as I am a user of internet thus from now I
    am using net for articles or reviews, thanks to web.

  29. What a information of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious know-how on the
    topic of unexpected feelings.

  30. Read the Full Piece of writing

    The Importance of Drinking Enough Water | Bareskin Blog

  31. I believe that is among the most vital info for me. And i am happy studying
    your article. But should observation on some general things, The site taste is great, the
    articles is in reality excellent : D. Good task, cheers

  32. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what
    all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost
    a pretty penny? I’m not very web smart so I’m
    not 100% sure. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Cheers

  33. Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your site.

    You have some really good posts and I believe I
    would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some articles
    for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please shoot me an e-mail if interested. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

